Who will wear Number 7 at Manchester United?

Who will wear Number 7 at Manchester United
Who will wear Number 7 at Manchester United

After a fallout with the club, Cristiano Ronaldo decided to part ways with Manchester United and terminated his contract with mutual consent. His departure from the club has vacated the highly coveted no.7 jersey. The number 7 shirt is not an ordinary shirt at Old Trafford. It is also affected with the curse. Since the departure of Ronaldo to Real Madrid in 2009, anyone who wore this jersey did not perform up to the mark and eventually left the club. It was Ronaldo himself who made a comeback to the club and wore it again. After his exit, it would be exciting to know that who will wear number 7 at Manchester United.

Who is number 7 of Manchester United 2023 squad?

Mason Mount has stepped into the hallowed shoes of Manchester United’s iconic No. 7 shirt, tracing the lineage, legacy, and implications of this monumental shift. The No. 7 shirt carries with it a lineage adorned with triumph and timeless moments. From the charismatic George Best to the indomitable Eric Cantona, each wearer has etched their mark in football history. As we fast-forward to the present, the baton of this legacy has been passed to Mason Mount, a rising star who now shoulders the weight of expectation and glory.

Who is number 7 of Manchester United 2023 squad?
Mason Mount Manchester United No.7 Jersey

Mason Mount, a prodigious talent, has been a pivotal force in Chelsea’s recent successes. His fluid gameplay, precision passes, and goal-scoring prowess have garnered the attention of football enthusiasts worldwide. As he dons Manchester United’s No. 7 jersey, a new chapter in his career unfolds, beckoning comparisons to the giants who have donned the number before him.

Manchester United’s decision to bestow the coveted No. 7 shirt upon Mason Mount marks a strategic shift in the club’s approach. The onus now lies on Mount to live up to the legacy, steering the team toward triumphs on both domestic and international fronts.

Other Contenders for No.7 Jersey

Since Cristiano’s departure in December, the jersey was lying vacant without any owner. If we see the current status of players then Marcus Rashford was the most deserving one. However, the England international has been wearing the No. 10 shirt ever since 2018 which is also highly reputed number. So did not claim for number 7 jersey.

Antony was just another contender for the number 7 jersey. He wore number 7 for a short period of time with Sao Paulo, but ultimately switched to his preferred number 11. The Brazilian winger is also not much interested in getting the no.7 shirt.

Manchester United no. 7 2023 - Antony
Manchester United no. 7 2023 – Antony

Jadon Sancho was also one of the frontrunner to grab the number 7 shirt. It was assumed that he will get it when he signed for United but it was Edinson Cavani who held that honour at the time. Sancho donned the number 7 during his four-year spell with Dortmund but his performance with United are not enough to earn him that jersey.

Players who can replace Messi and Ronaldo - Jadon Sancho
Players who can replace Messi and Ronaldo – Jadon Sancho

Alejandro Garnacho was assumed to be the perfect person to pick up the mantle from Ronaldo. Garnacho is undoubtedly one of the biggest fanboys of Cristiano Ronaldo. His recent performances have earned him an important place in the squad. He currently has number 49 jersey. However, giving him no.7 jersey might be too early.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Manchester United No.7 Jersey

Ronaldo joined the Red Devils 12 years after he left the club for Real Madrid. In the beginning, Cristiano Ronaldo was close to joining Manchester City but later in a shocking turnaround of the entire situation, it was confirmed that Manchester United have stepped in and completed the signing of Ronaldo. In Manchester United, Ronaldo played for six seasons from 2003-2009. With the club, he won eight major trophies along with the Ballon d’Or in 2008 and now he has returned to the club that made him a superstar. Ronaldo is the man who has elevated the dignity of number seven jersey.

Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United Number 7
Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United Number 7

On Friday 03 September 2021, Manchester United confirmed that Cristiano Ronaldo will wear the iconic no.7 shirt after returning to Old Trafford. The Portuguese captain wore the legendary shirt number 7 during his first spell with the club and will now wear it again on his comeback to United. Edinson Cavani wore the Number 7 shirt last season and was also wearing the same in this season. As now Ronaldo has been allocated the no.7, Cavani will switch to no.21, the same number that he wears for the Uruguayan national team. With the departure of Daniel James, the 21 number jersey was lying free. Cristiano Ronaldo thanked Edinson Cavani for his beautiful gesture.

“I was not sure if it would be possible to have the number seven shirt again. So I would like to say a huge thank you to Edi for this incredible gesture.”

Who will wear Number 7 at Manchester United
Who will wear Number 7 at Manchester United

Cristiano Ronaldo has worn the number 7 shirt at every club he has played for since 2003, be it Manchester United, Real Madrid or Juventus. He is the best number seven in the history of football and has built his entire brand under the ‘CR7’ name. When Ronaldo joined Manchester United in 2003, he wanted to take the number 28. It was Sir Alex Ferguson who persuaded him to take up the iconic number seven jersey which has been worn previously by club legends. Cristiano was handed the No.7 shirt in the 2003/4 season and continued to wear until he left in the summer of 2009. In his spell with Real Madrid and Juventus also, Cristiano improved the dignity of number 7 jersey by wearing it.

Manchester United Number 7 History

Manchester United Number 7 History
Manchester United Number 7 History

Many legendary players have worn the number 7 jersey while playing for Manchester United. The following footballers have worn the iconic jersey at United.

Player Years at Manchester United
George Best 1963-1974
Bryan Robson 1981-1988
Keith Gillespie 1988-1991
Eric Cantona 1992-1996
David Beckham 1996-2003
Cristiano Ronaldo 2003-2009
Michael Owen 2009-2012
Antonio Valencia 2012-2014
Angel Di Maria 2014-2015
Memphis Depay 2015-2017
Alexis Sanchez 2018-2020
Edinson Cavani 2020-2021
Cristiano Ronaldo 2021-2022
Mason Mount 2022-