Why Ben Stokes is not playing in India vs England Test Series?

MI auction strategy - Ben Stokes
MI auction strategy - Ben Stokes
Verified Apps to watch T20 World Cup 2022 Live Stream

The India vs England series has been started. It is a battle between two best test teams in the world at the present moment. The squad of both the teams are filled with big names. However, there is one big omission. Ben Stokes, who is one of the best all rounders in world cricket is not in England squad for this series. Fans want to know Why Ben Stokes is not playing in India vs England Test Series.

why ben stokes not playing
why ben stokes not playing

The reason why Ben Stokes is not playing versus India is that he has taken an indefinite break from cricket. Ben Stokes has withdrawn from the 5-match Test series against India ‘prioritise his mental health’. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed that all-rounder Ben Stokes will take an indefinite break from all forms of cricket with immediate effect. The news came before the starting of the India vs England series.

See why Ben Stokes took this indefinite break from cricket :

What happened to Ben Stokes – Indefinite break from cricket

Ben Stokes was included in the England squad to face India in five match Test series. After the decision of Stokes to take a break from cricket, Craig Overton has been named as his replacement for the Test series against India.

Stokes has withdrawn from England’s Test squad ahead of the LV= Insurance Test series against India starting next week to prioritize his mental well-being and to rest his left index finger, which has not fully healed since his return to competitive cricket earlier this month. England Cricket Board said in a statement on 30 July.

England Cricket Team Squad

Joe Root (Captain), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Mark Wood, Craig Overton

India Cricket Team Squad

Rohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha