EURO 2020 Quarter Finals : Sensational Yann Sommer vs Spain

EURO 2020 Quarter Finals : Sensational Yann Sommer vs Spain
EURO 2020 Quarter Finals : Sensational Yann Sommer vs Spain

Spain made it through to the Euro 2020 semi-finals by beating a resilient Switzerland side on penalties in Saint-Petersburg. Although, Switzerland lost the match but Yann Sommer was brilliant against Spain.

Yann Sommer came up with a string of diving saves throughout the match to keep the Spanish at bay as the Swiss hung to a 1-1 draw after extra time. Spain’s Gerard Moreno, in particular, squandered four chances by poor finishing or the acrobatics of Sommer.

Spain goalkeeper Unai Simon, who was named man of the match after saving two penalties in the 3-1 shootout win against Switzerland in their Euro 2020 quarter-final, said he would have given the award to opposite number Yann Sommer.

Widely regarded as one of the best goalkeepers in the Bundesliga, Borussia Mönchengladbach’s Yann Sommer has caught the eye with Switzerland at UEFA Euro 2020.

Yann Sommer is a Swiss professional footballer who plays as a goalkeeper for Bundesliga club Borussia Mönchengladbach and the Swiss national team. Sommer completed his apprenticeship at Basel, where he won the Swiss Super League on four consecutive occasions before transferring to Mönchengladbach in 2014.

Roger Federer praises Yann Sommer

Spain Euro 2020 Squad

Goalkeepers: David de Gea, Robert Sanchez, Unai Simon

Defenders: Aymeric Laporte, Jose Gaya, Jordi Alba, Pau Torres, Eric Garcia, Diego Llorente, Cesar Azpilicueta

Midfielders: Marcos Llorente, Sergio Busquets, Rodri, Pedri, Thiago, Koke, Fabian

Forwards: Dani Olmo, Mikel Oyarzabal, Gerard Moreno, Alvaro Morata, Ferran Torres, Adama Traore, Pablo Sarabia

Switzerland Euro 2020 Squad

Goalkeepers: Yann Sommer, Jonas Omlin, Yvon Mvogo, Gregor Kobel

Defenders: Fabian Schar, Ricardo Rodriguez, Manuel Akanji, Nico Elvedi, Jordan Lotomba, Becir Omeragic, Silvan Widmer, Loris Benito, Kevin Mbabu, Eray Comert

Midfielders: Granit Xhaka, Xherdan Shaqiri, Steven Zuber, Denis Zakaria, Remo Freuler, Edimilson Fernandes, Djibril Sow

Forwards: Haris Seferovic, Admir Mehmedi, Breel Embolo, Mario Gavranovic, Ruben Vargas, Christian Fassnacht, Dan Ndoye, Andy Zeqiri.